My Experience With Excessive Sweating — What Worked For Me

Cristian
4 min readMay 11, 2021

I was in my early teens. It was a hot summer, my brother, his girlfriend and I decided to go for a walk

We put on our flip-flops and left the house. After a few steps, my feet started to sweat really bad. I mean it was as if I had stepped in a puddle, yes, it was that bad. I distinctly remember my embarrassment for I couldn’t do much about it, I was hot.

My feet were soaked. I remember sneaking out of sight and trying to absorb the sweat with a handkerchief I had.

There wasn’t much I could do to hide the sweat for I had become more and more anxious and the sweatiness just intensified. I told them I was going back home.

It was the last time I wore flip-flops.

After reading more about my excessive sweating I found out there was medical term for it called — hyperhidrosis. It‘s something that affects a number of people.

Hyperhidrosis is the name given to excessive and uncontrollable sweating.

It starts during childhood and adolescence and it can be inherited.

I don’t remember dealing with this in childhood but I distinctly remember it starting in adolescence.

Not only has it been a huge confidence blow it also affected my ability to properly socialize.

For instance, I gave up participating in the school dance during my graduation as it meant holding hands and well dancing with someone.

I dreaded imagining the reaction of my partner as I’d nervously look at her while I held her hand in my clammy palm.

The sweatiness in my case gets worse during summer in comparison to colder seasons. I’ve noticed if it’s a cold environment my sweatiness decreases.

I suppose that’s why I don’t anticipate summer much and especially if I have to use public transport where the air is usually sultry and people are standing close to one another. My shirt is doomed to get visible sweat stains which reinforces the anxiety and in turn intensifies the sweatiness. It’s a vicious cycle.

It’s gotten to the point where before giving a handshake with someone I’d discreetly wipe my palm and think of excuses in case they asked what’s wrong.

Excessive sweating is not only embarrassing but can affect one’s social life.

It’s no fun and if you’re reading this you know the struggle, or maybe you don’t and are just curious to find out more about this.

I’ve tried some cures I have read about and some of them even brought positive results. This article is going to cover some treatments that worked for me. Hopefully, it does the trick for you too.

Although I am not fully cured and in comparison to other people it’s not too bad. I still get it. At this point, I am just trying to adapt my life around it.

Sage Tea

I’ve been looking for some natural treatments and came upon sage plants and their natural benefits in controlling excessive sweating.

Sage leaves have tannic acid in them which because of its astringent properties, constricts the sweat glands and reduces perspiration.

Having a cup of sage tea can help regulate sweat production naturally. I also tried soaking my hands in a mixture of sage water for about 20 minutes.

My morning routine included a cup of sage tea and it’s both healthy and refreshing.

Exercise

I mean it’s self-evident exercising is necessary to stay fit and leads to a boost in energy. You sweat away all the toxins and your body cools itself.

Also, don’t forget to drink water as you need to replenish the amount lost by your body.

The Institute of Medicine (IOM) recommends for men a total of 13 cups (about 3 liters) of fluid each day. For women, they suggest 9 cups (a little over 2 liters) of fluid each day.

Antiperspirant Spray

I stumbled upon Odaban which is an antiperspirant. It helps with excessive sweating be it on your feet, palms, or underarms.

I have taken a chance and purchased one for myself. I have noticed definite improvements with my sweaty palms issue after a few uses.

My palms did get a bit dry, especially during the first half of the day. Although it did not stop sweating entirely it made it more bearable.

If you are interested you can find more about it and even order one online here.

Acceptance

This is where the psychological part comes into play. I still have times where I am self-conscious and it burdens me to have to deal with it. But I have come to terms that this is how my body works and I have to accept it.

It’s annoying and uncomfortable and it’s a pervasive issue for so many people.

I’ve found ways to minimize and in a way control the sweatiness and that is already a step forward in itself.

Final Thoughts

There are more ways to deal with and manage hyperhidrosis. To name a few there are surgical procedures such as sweat gland removal, botox injections, or Iontophoresis. I have not gone this far but I just mention them in case it might be something you’d be interested in.

I hope some of these treatments help reduce and manage your excessive sweating.

You will never know until you try for yourself.

What works for you? Don’t hesitate to share below!

--

--